A couple of ideas for your leftover Christmas Ham

Primal “Pea and Ham” Soup

When I think of what to do with a ham bone I always think of Pea and Ham soup however green split peas are on my “no” list and most likely yours if you are following Paleo.  I did a bit of a google search on “Paleo pea and ham soup” to see what the alternatives were and I found a recipe on Mark’s Daily Apple Forum.  I modified it slightly so here is what I did:

I brought the ham bone with two cloves of garlic, a bay leaf and about 4L of water to boil, then let it simmer for about 1-2 hours.

Once the ham was falling off the bone, I added 3/4 of a whole cauliflower stalk and all, 1 cup of green beans and 1 carrot.  I then let this simmer for another couple of hours.

I then let the soup cool, pulled out the ham bone and bay leaf and used my hand-held stick blender to whiz it to a thick soup.  Because I am pregnant I am eating dairy at the moment so I added a lovely dollop of full fat sour cream but it also tasted fine without if you are not doing dairy.

pea and ham soup

Quiche with Almond meal base

I wanted to make a quiche with a base as I did not think frittata would be filling enough for a whole day at Dreamworld.  In the past I had used an almond meal base to make meat pies, however the recipe I had used had eggs and I only had enough eggs for the filling so I decided use macadamia nut oil instead.

For the base:

2 cups Almond Meal

1/4 cup Macadamia nut oil

1 1/2 tsp Allergy Free baking soda (picked up local Wray’s Organics)

I mixed everything together, spooned base into a quiche pan and baked until golden (around 15 mins in my fan forced oven)

I pulled it out to cool and then IT CRACKED!!! I was worried but don’t be as when I put the filling in and it all back into the oven it went back to normal (phew!).

For filling I used 6 eggs and whatever was in the fridge. Leftover ham, leftover roast sweet potato, shallots, full fat cheese and a bit of full fat cream (leave out the cheese and cream if you are dairy free!).

I baked this for around 20 mins and it was great served cold with salad in our lunch boxes.

Please note: If you are not used to the texture of almond meal it is a little more crumbly to a normal pastry.

quiche

One response

Leave a Reply

