If all else fails science will help my 2 year old eat veggies?!?

Part 2 of a 3 part series on Paleo and Kids

In my last post I discussed the challenges of getting my two-year old to eat veggies, in this post I am going to discuss how we used Kombucha to rid the evil apple juice addiction.

So why did I give him apple juice to begin with? My husband and I do not drink juice, we do not drink soft drinks.  Our fridge consists of water, sparkling water, milk and the occasional beer or wine.  I never really had juice as a child. I never really thought it was good for him but I guess it was like a treat much the same way you give them a sweet biscuit or a chocolate thinking it can’t hurt them.  Then the quantity increases as they want more.  The once off glass of half apple juice, half water turned into a regular glass each afternoon after kindy and he was soon asking for more.  I realised this was turning into a bit of a sugar habit, with the increase of asking for juice and then lollies, chocolate and party cake (as he calls it).  A regular afternoon snack of juice and tiny teddies.  He is only 2!  But I can see how easily this can get out of hand once the (sugar) tantrums kick in and after all we had this food as kids didn’t we?   As a kid I was lucky to have these “treats” once a month and maybe just at a party but I feel now because we have easy access to these foods we seem to be giving them to our kids more often.  What are you thoughts on this?

I tried taking the apple juice off him cold turkey but instead, he would stand in front of the fridge screaming, and if I offered water he would tip out the water all over the floor when he realised it was not juice. The tantrum would often lead into dinner time and then bath time and ………… you get the picture.

Enter Kombucha

I had been reading a bit about Kombucha and the benefits of probiotics on other Paleo blogs I follow and I was pleased to read it was a good way to help reduce sugar and even alcohol intake.  Kombucha is a fermented tea.  Here are some sites I like if you are interested in knowing more:

  • Cultured Food Life  – Lots of stuff on Kombucha and Fermented Foods
  • Ray of Sunshine Wellness  – A lovely little post on how it is great for your guts
  • Paleo in Melbourne – Kombucha tips and tricks
  • Buchi Kombucha – The most awesome Kombucha to try and where I brought my kit from.  They are also fantastic about answering all your kombucha questions especially if you are worried about the sugar, the caffeine and the alcohol content (of which my mind is at ease otherwise I would not be giving it to the 2-year-old!!!)

So where would I find this mysterious drink?   Luckily a friend told me there was a stall at the Northey Street Markets.  We went there and met the wonderful family from Buchi Kombucha.  The lady told me how her children just loved to drink it and even helped with the brewing process.  I brought a bottle of the natural flavour straight away, excitedly took it home and gave Mr 2 -year- old some with some water and told him it was juice.

His first response was to spit it out everywhere! 

It does have a strange taste (certainly to juice) but it is not an offensive taste. This time I decided not to give in and did as Mrs Buchi suggested giving it a few goes, so I tried again and again with no luck.  Then I gave him some without the water and guess what – he took it and asked for more! Finally!  I went back the next week and tried another flavour – Hibiscus Pine Lime.  Now this one did not look like juice but the flavouring gave it a more sweeter taste – this one was a huge hit!  Then the hubby tried it and suddenly we were going through at least 2 bottles a week – uh oh what have I done now!!??

I went back to Buchi and I brought one of their starter kits.  It contains the scoby (mushroom) with some starter tea, tea bags, sugar, vessel – everything you need to get started.  All I needed to do was follow their very simple instructions and our first batch was brewing.  At around the 10 day mark we tasted the brew to see how it was going.  I felt it was still a bit too sweet but hubby thought it was ready so we bottled it and started the process again.  Now we are up to brewing 10L a fortnight to hopefully give to family and friends (if we don’t drink it all)!

bucha

Our Kombucha starter kit from Buchi

It is very inexpensive to buy the kit and very inexpensive to make new batches with only the cost of tea and sugar.  I usually buy the Aldi brand organic black and green boxes of tea.

Now Mr 2-year-old no longer asks for juice but asks for boocha and I am no longer keeping apple juice in the house!   I have noticed for myself that I only need a small amount of kombucha to feel refreshed and energised and that half a glass every few days seems to be enough.

Stay tuned: In my third blog post about Kids and Paleo I will discuss lunch boxes and how I overhauled a lunchbox of sugar and share some recipe ideas.

Leave a Reply

